WCBCC elects new board chair and vice-chair

GLIDEWELL RECEIVES PLAQUE: Shown here (l-r) Commissioners Donna Johns, Tony Anderson, Danny Glidewell, William McCormick and Brad Drake.

From Ron Kelley, Walton County BCC Public Information Officer 

The Walton County Board of County Commissioners (BCC) elected a new board chair and vice-chair near the close of their regular board meeting held Tuesday, November 28, 2023.

District 4 Commissioner Donna Johns made a motion to nominate District 1 Commissioner William ‘Boots’ McCormick as chair for the 2023-2024 term. This was seconded by District 5 Commissioner Tony Anderson. The motion was passed unanimously by the full board.

Next, Commissioner McCormick made a motion to have Commissioner Johns serve as vice-chair, which was seconded by District 3 Commissioner Brad Drake. This motion also passed unanimously.

  At the close of the meeting, outgoing board chairman Danny Glidewell thanked the public and staff for their support and assistance.

“I would just like to say thank you to the staff for helping me out to sign my name. That job would be impossible to do without the support of – Carrie is not here, but bless her heart – but she does a good job. So, I appreciate all the help from staff, and I appreciate Mr. Adkinson’s support and thank you all (commissioners) for the opportunity to serve and God bless you.”

Commissioner McCormick then presented Commissioner Danny Glidewell with a plaque and thank him for his service as 2023 board chairman. “On behalf of the board and the people of Walton County, I’d like to present you with this in recognition of your chairmanship through 2022-2023,” said Chairman-Elect McCormick. “I’ve enjoyed your tenure. I have learned a lot from you. I hope I can take some of the things I learned from you and proceed with them. Thank you.”

  For more information, contact the Public Information Office at (850) 892-8155 or pio@co.walton.fl.us