FLORIDA DEPARTMENT of Environmental Protection photo taken looking north at the Grand Dunes walkover and gazebo structure.

From Christopher Mitchell, DFS Public Information Officer 

Registered voters of the City of DeFuniak Springs will have an opportunity to vote on a new city charter Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2021, to replace a 120-year-old governing document.  The newly proposed draft charter provides for nine charter-level positions defined as the following: five councilmembers consisting of the City Council, the City Manager, the Mayor, the City Marshal, and the City Clerk.  The new charter for voter consideration will change the way the various positions interact and govern the overall local government system in an era of new technology and modern state statutes.

“The City appreciates the hard work of Councilmen McKnight and Bierbaum, and Reverend Doyle Redwine whom have been working hard on a new draft charter for over a year on the Municipal Charter and Code Review Committee, along with citizen volunteer Jack Owen who initially led this committee” says City Manager Mell Smigielski.  “They’ve taken into consideration numerous changes in how government operates at all levels of our society throughout the past century and address these changes in a new draft charter. It’s now on all citizens to empower themselves with the language in the draft charter that will impact their lives should they vote to adopt this new governing document on January 26.”

  Citizens can see the draft charter at www.DeFuniakSprings.net or may obtain a hard copy at DeFuniak Springs City Hall, 71 US Highway 90 West, DeFuniak Springs, Florida  32433.  Voters will decide the adoption of the charter during the special referendum schedule on Tuesday, January 26, 2021, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the DeFuniak Springs Community Center, 361 North 10th Street, DeFuniak Springs, Florida 32433.  Voters registered in Florida before the deadline and residing within the city limits of DeFuniak Springs are eligible to vote in this election.

Deadline to register to vote was December 28, 2020.